An iceberg is one of the reasons for my lack of recent posts

I’ve not blogged for a while as I have been in the process of applying and interviewing for a new job. Unfortunately, I didn’t get it, but I am back online now!

I was asked to reply to the interview email with any dietary requirements. This filled me with dread, as does any work meeting where food is involved. Would they think I was awkward?

I replied along the lines of, I have to follow a gluten and dairy free diet, but should this be too much trouble to cater for then please let me know and I would bring my own. I wasn’t expected a feast or anything, but I have to admit I was a little disappointed in my lunch container filled with shredded iceberg lettuce, a couple of slices of lonely looking cucumber and tomatoes and a hard boiled egg. Oh, and an unappealing packet of ready salted crisps. Now, don’t get me wrong, I appreciated that they catered for me, but it made me think if this is how educational settings cater for their prospective members of staffs, what is the offering like for allergen suffering pupils? I hope it is more inviting and appealing. Something more along the lines of the feast of sandwiches, sausage rolls, etc. that my fellow interviewees could devour.

th6OWQVS4U

Leave a Reply

