Buy by the bottle: GF Beer and lager

I used to love beer and lager prior to my Coeliac diagnosis. To be honest, it was one of the treats I missed the most. Now thankfully, more and more brands are bringing out gluten free beers… some are even available on draught (see separate post).

20170201_165910-1

I thought I’d put together a run through of some of my gluten free beer and lagers available to buy by the bottle:

Peroni Nastro Azzurro Gluten Free

Peroni is a favourite lager of my husband’s. I never got a chance to try it before I became gluten free, so was really pleased that they rolled out a gluten free version of the popular Italian lager.

Peroni Nastro Azzurro Gluten Free tastes the same as the original Peroni Nastro Azzurro even with the same refreshing crisp finish and that is beacuse they use exactly the same ingredients – just adding a special enzyme at the end of the brewing process to remove the gluten. It is safe for coeliacs and has been endorsed by the Italian Coeliac Association.

Verdict: One of my favourite gluten free lagers by far. I even let the hubbie try some and he said it was like the original!

St Peter’s G-Free

St Peter’s G-Free is a local beer to me, brewed down the road in Suffolk. It’s an interesting beer – combining the tastes of a clear, crisp ale, with fruitiness, lager characteristics and a bitter finish. ABV 4.2%.

Verdict: For something a bit different, this is a must try.  However, I must be honest, it isn’t my favourite on this list.

Estrella Damm Daura Gluten Free

I first tried Estrella Damm Daura Gluten Free lager in La Tasca. It was my first taste of a gluten free lager out-and-about and it was both refreshing in terms of new experience and taste. It’s now available in four packs from most supermarkets. The 5.4% Spanish lager is an easy-drinking choice, especially when well chilled.

Verdict: Real thirst-quencher for those summer months. Just be careful to ensure you have the gluten free version – the bottles are similar and I was once served the original version in error!

Brewdog Vagabond Pale Ale

Brewdog’s gluten free Vagabond Pale Ale, 4.5% ABV, was designed to demonstrate free from gluten doesn’t have to mean free from flavour – and this shows. The pale ale packs flavour with a hoppy citrus bitterness. As well as being available in supermarket by the bottle it’s also available on tap at many Brewdog bars.

Verdict: Ideal for fans of hoppy ales, but wanting a lighter more thirst-quenching choice. A hoppy taste with a fruity finish.

Others I’ve sampled in the past (and in need of refreshing my mouth and memory with in order to report back): Green’s Gluten Free Premium Pilsner and Hambleton Ales GFA.

Coming soon:

Greene King – IPA and Old Speckled Hen

This is a newbie to my list. Just today, I read an article which said that Greene King are launching gluten free versions of its IPA and Old Speckled Hen beers. This made me so happy! I was even happier to hear that the company are staying true to the flavour profiles that make the beers so popular.

According to George Johnston, Greene King brewing and brands marketing director, “Everyone should be able to enjoy great tasting British beer,” and I couldn’t agree more.

The beers are going to be available in 500ml bottles in Tesco (and other stores) from February 2017.

Verdict: I can’t wait to try them and will definitely report back! Hopefully, if they take off (which I’m sure they will) they may be available on draught in Greene King pubs.

 

 

Leave a Reply

