Gluten and lactose free pizza

Who doesn’t love a pizza? I was so excited when restaurants such as Pizza Hut, Pizza Express and Bella Italia launched their gluten free pizzas. My family love Italian food, so it meant I could join in and eat the same (well similar) as them. But then I went lactose free….

I thought this was it for me enjoying pizzas out and about or a quick ‘bung-it-in-the-oven’ pizza tea. Brands started to launch gluten free frozen pizzas, but these contained the dreaded lactose. Until…..

I was walking around Waitrose and just happened to be nosing in their frozen food section and this caught my eye… Schar Bonta d’Italia Pizza Margherita.

pizza

A gluten and lactose pizza!!! Plus, it was on offer, too – bonus! I just had to buy it.

So the next time my family tucked in to their favourite treat tea, so did I! It was so tasty. Nice thin base, similar to Bella Italia’s base but not so crunchy. The topping was just right. It tasted like a rustic pizza. I hadn’t had a ‘proper’ pizza for oh so long and this really hit the spot. I will definitely be buying this again.

While I’m on the topic of pizzas, if you have the time to make your own pizza, I can really recommend cauliflower pizzas. Perfect, if you’re watching your carb intake. There are many recipes around, but this is the one I tend to look at http://www.goodtoknow.co.uk/recipes/543498/cauliflower-pizza, just omitting the parmesan from the base mix. You can also add herbs to the base to give it a boost.

Leave a Reply

